Gallo-roman walk. The city of Lutetia city and the Parisii people who after courageously resisting Roman invasion finally submitted to Rome. However, in exchange they received a clean, luxurious and ordered city, worthy of the Roman military camps. Lutetia was settled from the Ile de la Cité to the hill of St Geneviève, grandiose monuments were built there. From the Seine, the view of the capital is spectacular, a real showcase to the glory of Lutetia, but especially of the Roman Empire !
LE CARDO MAXIMUS DE LUTETIA
The Cardo Maximus of Lutetia or Rue St Jacques is over 2000 years old, and has remained unchanged since the Gallo-Roman era. It crosses the Seine and runs alongside the right bank. It is now known as the Rue St Martin heading North. To the South it links into Rue St Orléans.
FORUM DE LUTETIA
It runs along Rue Soufflot only parts of the foundation wall of the Forum remain, and they can be found at 63 Boulevard St Michel.
THERMES DE CLUNY
The vestiges of the baths can be found here. They include the palestra from the tepidarium (the tepid room) to the caldarium for a hot bath and finally ending up in the frigidarium for a cold bath…Official website
LES ARÈNES DE LUTETIA
Found at number 49 Rue Monge, is a discreet entrance into the structure. At the time, the stands were higher and the structure could accomodate crowds of up to 17,000 spectators.
The chapel, the large amphitheater and its buildings have been classified as historical monuments since 1887.